#sol15 Day #12 Music Night

I have made a promise to myself to get to bed early tonight. I am typically an early to bed person but between grading, report card prep and nightly slicing I have been up past 11:00 for the last week… So I am doing a short post.

March is music in our schools month. As the parent of a musician that means I have several music events to attend throughout the month.  Tonight was Band-O-Rama which is a gathering of three local high school concert bands.

IMG_0262 (1)

Brunswick High School Band

 

I think it says a lot about the power of music and the  positive nature of musicians that these students come together for this event.  There are some heated sport rivalries between these towns. But, for this night, they put rivalries aside.

Each band plays two songs and then all 242 musicians maneuver on to the stage for the  last set of songs.  Together they played the school fight songs for each school.  Each spirited songs is meant to get the teams and crowds fired up for their respective teams. Tonight all these were played together harmoniously.

3 comments

  1. How nice to go and hear the bands play together, and see that they can put the rivalry aside for a bit. I, too, have been burning the midnight oil and can only imagine how drained I’ll feel after tomorrow. But tonight I think I’ll actually have time to read a page or two. Yay!

  2. So awesome of you to take the time out of your evening to go see your bands. One of the extras the teachers do that goes unrecognized 🙂

  3. This sounds like a nice way to spend the evening! I have also been staying up way past my bedtime lately, but tonight I got to spend some time to myself! It’s a nice feeling to take a night off from the stresses of school. Don’t stay up too late tonight! 🙂

Leave a Reply

