Tea Time

At 8:45 most mornings I scurry up to the staff room to make my morning cup of tea before the children arrive.  It is always empty and I have the room to myself because everyone else is busy with their last minute preparations for the day.

I fill a mug of cold water and pour it into the Hot Spot, a little appliance whose sole job is to heat up water for making steaming hot drinks.  I push the button and wait for the water to heat up.  For just a few moments I allow my endless to do list to slip from my mind.

While I wait I look out the window and enjoy the view of the garden and the backyard of our school.  I love to watch nature and notice what is happening with each season… so much to watch for…. Tracks in the snow… buds on the trees… birds flying… leaves changing color… Right now I am looking closely for hopeful sign of spring.

This calms my mind before the day begins…

The water heats and makes a shushing sound as it boils.  I carefully tear open the packet my bag comes in and place it into the bottom of the mug.   I push the dispense button and the water trickles into the mug.  The scent of cinnamon and tangy spices fills the air as the scent is released from the tea bag.  I dunk the tea bag up and down watching the water turn to brown, place the lid on the mug and leave it to steep.

The children arrive and the morning moves on… I sip from my tea and enjoy the flavor and once again feel the calm I experienced during my morning tea ritual.

5 comments

  1. I love this! What a great way to give yourself some quiet time (even if it is just a couple of minutes)! You have made me think about giving myself time to forget the to-do list and focus on some calming tea. 🙂

  2. Rituals are so important…thank you for sharing yours. While reading this, I realize how much I multitask and how often little could-be rituals get shoved by the wayside in exchange for maintaining the hurryhurryhurry that is a big constant in my life right now. Thanks for reminding me to slow the heck down and enjoy those little rituals…

  3. This is one of the reasons I make coffee every morning. The ritual, the calm, the scent. It all combines to place me in the moment. And that’s before I’ve even had a sip!

Leave a Reply

